WHAT TO DO WITH THE BROKEN?

I don’t know about you, but lately my heart has just been broken and broken, over and over.  The state of our world and the condition of our United States just overwhelms me, so much so, I have had to quit listening to news at all this week.

And then there is the news of someone whose husband has a mass in his brain and needs surgery…….not sure what his future is, but his wife is surely broken as she stands empty by his bedside. 

I have a friend from Church and her sister is dying.  As a group we have prayed for her, but my friend says she is quickly declining…….LORD why?

And my neighbors next door had to put down their dog this week, way before his old age because he attacked their other pup, totally unprovoked.  They are heartbroken and being a dog lover myself, my heart breaks for them.

Hearts that are heavy and broken are a part of all of our lives…….grief hurts and what to do?  Broken hearts are evidence that we have loved, and we have loved much.  But what do you do with your one…..broken…..heart?

PSALM 31:12 “I AM LIKE A BROKEN VESSEL……”

I have tried in the past with no success, to run away from the brokenness.  But that is the problem, the more you run, the more it remains.

The psalmist puts it into words best and I have committed the following verse to memory and it is one of my absolute favorites that I came upon during a difficult time in my life.  I discovered it sitting down on my front porch, all alone and utterly broken.  All I had was a wounded soul and tears, but no words for how I felt.  I opened my Bible to a random page and looked down and there was this jewel…….

PSALM 109:21-22

BUT YOU, O SOVEREIGN LORD,

DEAL WELL WITH ME FOR YOUR NAME’S SAKE;

OUT OF THE GOODNESS OF YOUR LOVE,

DELIVER ME.

FOR I AM POOR AND NEEDY,

AND MY HEART IS WOUNDED WITHIN ME.

I read that verse over and over begging GOD for HIS grace and realizing that my heart physically hurt inside my chest because of the emotional pain I was in.  Since then, I go to this verse whenever my heart is hurting and it gives me incredible comfort!  I hope it helps you too, if you are hurting right now.

I’m realizing that our brokenness really is a beautiful thing……our hearts were designed to love and to break and to feel joy! I pity the one whose heart has never been broken, because then they have never truly loved. Yes when our hearts are broken, we are vulnerable.  The people around us will do their best to comfort us, but only GOD can comfort in a way that no one else will…….HE is tender and loving beside us, gentle and full of grace and mercy.

WHEN WE ARE WEAK……..HE IS STRONG.

WHEN WE ARE SPENT…….HE GIVES GREATER GRACE.

WHEN WE ARE UTTERLY BROKEN……..GOD RESTORES AND HEALS.

Being broken and beautiful actually let’s GOD into the fissures of our needy hearts.  GOD will restore your heart, so that it can be stronger for the next break.  I think GOD has a good idea of broken hearts…….imagine how HE felt seeing HIS ONE AND ONLY SON broken and crucified on the Cross!

And how about Mary’s heart?  A mother’s heart is tender for her children.  How was she able to watch what evil men did to her innocent SON? And how did she bear it?

PROVERBS 18: 14 “BUT WHO CAN BEAR A BROKEN SPIRIT?”

Being broken is a beautiful thing because our beautiful GOD can come near and help us heal.  So let HIM.  Our culture thinks that being broken is a weakness…….ignore it!  ISAIAH 40:29 says:  “HE gives power to the weak, and strength to the powerless.” Our brokenness can keep us from moving forward in life……..that’s why GOD’S healing, powerful love, is so needed by us all! We break, HE reaches in and heals and we learn to grab on to HIM because we are at the end of our self.  Finding your way through the grief, through the broken, is a slow process for sure.

And what about the tears?  I used to try to not let anyone see me tear up…….but since I have been abiding with HIM, I don’t care who sees anymore because I know HE sees most.  

TEARS ARE GOOD……..WATER GRACE FALLING DOWN YOUR TENDER FACE.

Once you go through the pain, the agony of grief and being broken beyond yourself, and you have no more tears left, then GOD gently embraces you. HE comes near with HIS mercy and restores you slowly over time. Notice I said slowly…….you can’t rush the process!   Take your time and don’t let anyone tell you, oh you should be over that!  And yet, with one day at a time, you will notice, your one broken heart starts to heal, as HE brings you out of that painful valley, so once again you can tell your ever-loving sweet sweet beautiful heart…….to beat again!

PSALM 147: 3 “HE HEALS THE BROKENHEARTED AND BINDS UP THEIR WOUNDS.”

6 thoughts on “WHAT TO DO WITH THE BROKEN?

  1. Thank you sir! Yes, being broken only brings us closer to GOD. So all our valleys become something quite different once we are standing on that mountaintop again! And I know you know this, but the testing of our faith produces perseverance and compassion within us. A broken heart is a compassionate heart. So glad you spend a little time here! Blessings on your day.

    Like

  2. You are so right. The pain and hurt brings us to the eye of the storm where He holds us and covers us with His peace. My heart physically hurts over many things and people suffering and struggling but, I know He is in control and I trust Him even when I don’t understand. Joy comes in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, it’s that TRUST thing isn’t it? But it is GOD’S story in the big picture and us being broken is all part of HIS plan. Our Savior broke for us, so we must break for others as well. You are a blessing to me!

    Like

  4. Thank you sister in Christ for this very touching and encouraging message. I know in all of my brokenness He is always right there, holding me in the palm of His hand. Leading me, guiding me, giving me strength, wisdom, courage and discernment. I love your Psalm too; it has given me such hope. Only our hope in Him can carry us through and give us peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad the Psalm touched you. I have carried it in my heart for years……the WORD brings such comfort when we need it and yes, hope too! Thanks for taking the time to stop by friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

