MY DAYS WERE NUMBERED

As a Mom, my days were numbered……..what I mean by that is from the moment I held my sweet son in my arms, the days were numbered that he would grow up and leave the nest.

And one day you turn around and your child turns 30, long on their way to their own life and you wonder……why did they grow so fast LORD?

Now when I see little boys walking with their momma I long for the time when my son would hold tightly to my hand. My little guy was always my buddy who accompanied me everywhere I went. 

My days were numbered with each wonderful milestone: his first birthday, his first day of school, his first karate belt, his 8th grade graduation and then High School graduation and then off to college.  I numbered my tears as I numbered his accomplishments.

All those important days should be numbered, cherished and recorded because once those days are gone, they can never be relived again.  They are a passage of time as we know it and each day is a precious gift.  Children give your life such purpose and meaning every single day don’t they?

Down the street from me there is a family that lost their son to a drunk driver……I can’t imagine that momma’s heart. It must be broken in two with the every day longing for him.

Because of life lessons, we number our days with hearts of wisdom.  With each passing year we gain more insight into GOD’S plan and HIS gift of children to us.  

CHILDREN ARE TO BE TREASURED, TAUGHT AND GIVEN WINGS TO FLY!!

GOD’S plan has an irony to it.  When there are tough stages to get through, you wish for them to be over quickly, only to look back on them with longing to relive them years later.  Some seasons we would like to forget, but if you look back and study those tough moments, there is a lesson in them from GOD.  HIS wisdom always shines through any darkness we could go through…….always.

As a mom, I think often of the mother of JESUS……..

LUKE 2:19 “BUT MARY KEPT ALL THESE THINGS IN HER HEART AND THOUGHT ABOUT THEM OFTEN.”

The above verse is in the New Living Translation and I also like the New Century Version:

“BUT MARY TREASURED THESE THINGS AND CONTINUED TO THINK ABOUT THEM.”

The Bible tells us about the state of Mary’s heart because GOD is in the heart business!  The matters of our hearts as parents, are important to GOD. HE understands that a Mom’s heart is full of unconditional love.  A mother’s wisdom is passed down and lives beyond her.

PSALM 90:12 “TEACH US TO NUMBER OUR DAYS, SO THAT WE MAY GAIN A HEART OF WISDOM”

I wish I could find all the right words here to really explain what being a Mom has meant to me.  To love as a Mom is really your greatest triumph!  It is a hat that you wear the rest of your life after your children come into the world and you wouldn’t trade it for anything.  GOD knows and understands fully a Mom’s heart and because HE does, HE calls us HIS beloved.

OUR FATHER KNOWS WHAT IT MEANS TO SAY GOODBYE TOO.

If you are currently a Mom with little ones, know they will grow up fast before your eyes!  If you are a Mom of a teenager, they won’t stay that way for very long.  If your children are grown and have left your nest, I’m right there with your tender heart today; a heart that misses them greatly.

And if you are a Mom who has lost a child……there are no words, only broken tears that GOD holds close to HIS heart. If you have lost your Mom, may you always remember all she taught you about this life.

Being a Mom becomes your mission field, an opportunity to impact future generations.  Your wisdom is passed on and oh what a wonderful thing when your child professes that JESUS is his or her LORD and SAVIOR!  A mom’s prayer is heard and answered, so never give up praying.  The best thing we can do for our children is pray for them and let them see and know it.  Tell them often that you pray for them.  Prayers will warm their hearts, as well as yours.  In a way, you can keep your children close to you with your everyday prayers, even after they have left your nest.

I know deep in my soul, that GOD watches over my son, better than I can!  I fully trust GOD to do that.  And knowing GOD is near him calms my heart every single day.  I don’t worry like I used to about my son.  I know he is in GOD’S capable hands.

Let us celebrate and remember Mom’s everywhere today…….their hearts are very special, not only to others, but to GOD…….. because HE created them to hold a sacrificial love just like HIS!  

PROVERBS 31: 28 “HER CHILDREN STAND AND BLESS HER. HER HUSBAND PRAISES HER.”

5 thoughts on “MY DAYS WERE NUMBERED

    1. I’m glad what I wrote touched your heart as well. I didn’t mean to leave out Dad’s but it was Mother’s Day so was trying to honor that. Thanks for reading and thanks for posting!!

      Like

  1. Maxine! What a beautiful message! You captured every thought and feeling I’ve had on this journey of being a Mom. Thank you for putting into words and bringing to life all of those emotions we have as momma’s! What a gift you have for capturing the essence of our Lord and His love for us as well. Our God loves us more than we can ever imagine. Well, we can sort of imagine, because we are Mom’s!

    Like

Leave a Reply

