SUNDAY REFLECTIONS

ANGER IS EASY…….GRACE IS HARD!

Everyone seems to be so angry these days.  And I will admit it is very easy to get frustrated, then angry.  I think we all know what buttons we have that when pushed, we can lose it.  It’s about having self-control. 

ANGRY IS EASY………..GRACE IS HARD

It’s easy to become angry and lose control with our words.  Words can tear down and harm in a way that may last a lifetime.  Those words, once said, can never be taken back can they?

MATTHEW 12:  36-37   “I TELL YOU, ON THE DAY OF JUDGEMENT PEOPLE WILL GIVE ACCOUNT FOR EVERY CARELESS WORD THEY SPEAK, FOR BY YOUR WORDS YOU WILL BE JUSTIFIED, AND BY YOUR WORDS YOU WILL BE CONDEMNED.”

EVERY CARELESS WORD………YOU…….WILL…….BE……..CONDEMNED.  Yikes!  This scripture said by JESUS could not be any more clear.  Our words matter……….always.  Our words, even when we are angry is the outward evidence of our inner character.  

ANGRY IS EASY………GRACE IS HARD

Paul says the power of the tongue should only be used for building up as fits the occasion……..that it may give grace to those who hear.

EPHESIANS 4: 29  “LET NO CORRUPTING TALK COME OUT OF YOUR MOUTHS, BUT ONLY SUCH AS IS GOOD FOR BUILDING UP, AS FITS THE OCCASION, THAT IT MAY GIVE GRACE TO THOSE WHO HEAR.”

When anger comes, before we speak, let’s remind ourselves of this too:

EPHESIANS 4: 31  “LET ALL BITTERNESS AND WRATH AND ANGER AND CLAMOR AND SLANDER BE PUT AWAY FROM YOU, ALONG WITH ALL MALICE.”

Anger is easy.  It’s the giving of grace, not only to ourselves but to those around us that is hard.  Giving of grace is being mindful of the other person, being kind and forgiving towards one another and paying attention to what we say and how we say it.  How we say things matter – it’s all in the delivery!  

So today, let’s take control with the help of our GOD.  Ask HIM to help you control and rethink your words, especially those said in anger.   Stop before you speak and maybe even count to 10!  And let your words today, be ever pleasing in HIS sight!

EPHESIANS 4: 32   “BE KIND TO  ONE ANOTHER, TENDERHEARTED, FORGIVING ONE ANOTHER, AS GOD IN CHRIST FORGAVE YOU.”

maxine_signature

 


8 thoughts on “SUNDAY REFLECTIONS

  1. Amen 🙏🤗

    Thank you for this powerful reminder. You’re absolutely right—anger is easy, but extending grace is a true challenge that reflects our inner character. The scriptures you’ve shared resonate deeply, emphasizing the importance of self-control and the impact of our words. I’m motivated to be more intentional about my words, especially when I feel frustrated. It’s challenging because we can be easily provoked, but as followers of Christ, Love should be our initial response. Following that, forgiveness and repentance play crucial roles. It’s essential that we reflect the Light of Christ and represent Him in a manner that Honors and Glorifies His Name, ensuring we do not diminish His work in our lives. People perceive us differently when they hear the Name of Jesus, so despite the difficulty, it’s vital that we strive to live accordingly.

    Let’s continue to lean on God’s Guidance and strive to build others up with our words, following the example of Christ’s Forgiveness.

    Your words have encouraged me to pause and reflect before speaking.

    Thank you for sharing this message of Grace and Kindness.

    God Bless You and Continue to be a Blessing.

    Like

  2. I am reminded of James 3.6 And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.

    and Luke 6.45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

    and Matthew 15.18 But those things which proceed out of the mouth come forth from the heart; and they defile the man.

    Words matter; I think they matter more than we realize. They are a reflection of our very hearts.

    We heard a great sermon this morning: We cannot excuse continual sin with “I’m only human.” When we continue in it, it’s blatant disobedience, and we must turn to God and confess.

    Psalms 19.14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh two of your scriptures I was just sharing with my husband yesterday. I really listen to words more than ever and yes they make a difference and yes they sure do show what is in the heart. When my words are unkind then I know it is a heart issue and I go to GOD and ask for HIS forgiveness and for HIM to change my heart to be more like HIS. I always love reading your comments by the way……..feel like I am actually talking with you! Wish we could meet but I know someday we will!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I would LOVE to meet you! And I know what you mean – sometimes I feel like we’ve already met, again and again.
        “When my words are unkind then I know it is a heart issue” – and I often go to the same verses when it is my thoughts that are unkind. 😥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My fav book to read always in one sitting is the Book of James. He is so straightforward and always gives me a kind slap up side the head to straighten me out! Love how GOD’S word will do that! Blessings dear Kathy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment