DO IN SECRET

GOD sees what is done in secret

A friend of mine and I were chatting over coffee about how right it is to “brag” if you will say, about what we have done for others as Christians.  And she said something that was so good…….

WHAT IS DONE IN SECRET FEELS SO RIGHT.

We all I am sure, know that kind of person who is always letting you know what they have done and who they have shared the Gospel with.  I prefer to keep what I do more to myself.  What we do in kind for others is always seen by GOD anyway, so why do I have to constantly tell others?  Might it be because it elevates myself?    It seems somewhat prideful to me.  And if you brag about it in my book, you are just like the Pharisees who wanted to be seen for their ceremonies and oral traditions.  JESUS says this:

MATTHEW 6: 5   “AND WHEN YOU PRAY, DO NOT BE LIKE THE HYPOCRITES, FOR THEY LOVE TO PRAY STANDING IN THE SYNAGOGUES AND ON THE STREET CORNERS TO BE SEEN BY OTHERS.  TRULY I TELL YOU, THEY HAVE RECEIVED THEIR REWARD IN FULL.”

If we want to be seen……….to be noticed……..to sound like the authority on the subject, all these go to a prideful spirit, because who is getting the credit in the first place? 

WHAT IS DONE IN SECRET FEELS SO RIGHT

What we do, how we do it, when and where we do for others is really between us, the person and GOD!!    If we truly take the humble approach then won’t we deny ourselves any credit?   Let me know what you think on this subject.  How should we appear before others and GOD with our works and fruitfulness?  How should we share or not share what we do?  How do we remain humble instead of puffing ourselves up to make us feel good because of “all we have done” ?  How does GOD alone get all the credit?

 

Let’s remember that GOD does see all we do for others, whether it is a sacrifice, or bringing someone to the LORD!  GOD is keeping all as a record in HIS book and that is what truly matters.

If we anchor our character to JESUS then we will act like HE did.  If you search the GOSPELS you will see often when JESUS performed a miracle HE said this:

“SEE THAT YOU SAY NOTHING TO ANYONE…….”

Now JESUS could have said this because HE knew that we as humans cannot keep things to ourselves and that the GOSPEL would spread or maybe there is more to this about staying quiet or acting in secret and saying nothing.

I don’t know about you, but I have done a few things anonymously and like my friend said, it felt right to do.  Just knowing that a person was lifted up and encouraged on that day, made my day!  But more important I knew that GOD saw what I did and knew what I carried in my heart, a heart living for HIM and not myself.  I think we can all be gifts to one another in many ways, all with the guidance of the LORD, all with HIS love and mercy for each other.  So if we brag about anyone, let’s brag about JESUS and HIS good news for the world! 

Let us sacrifice……….for GOD.  And let’s remain humble and keep those things close in our hearts.  Treasure those times between you and GOD and that person, whoever she or he is and know that GOD is smiling when HE sees what is done in secret because it’s possible HE is thinking: “just between you and ME child……..well done!” 

MATTHEW 9:  30-31   “AND JESUS STERNLY WARNED THEM, SEE THAT NO ONE KNOWS ABOUT IT.  BUT THEY WENT AWAY AND SPREAD HIS FAME THROUGH ALL THAT DISTRICT.”

maxine_signature

 


8 thoughts on “DO IN SECRET

  1. Amen 🙏🤗

    Absolutely, doing good in secret aligns with Jesus’ teachings about humility. It’s not about seeking recognition from others but rather knowing that God sees and values our sincere acts of kindness. It’s a beautiful way to live out our faith.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with ya! Every once in a while, I mention something so that someone knows it was ME who did something, and the light of the action goes out. Whatever I get from that revelation is all I’m going to get. I miss out on that secret pat on the back from my Best Friend.

    I love anonymous giving and the joy it brings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment