SPIRITUAL BLINDSPOTS

Photo by Engin Akyurt on Pexels.com

Blind spots in life we all seem to have one way or another.  But honestly, where I don’t want to have them is in my spiritual walk.  If my cancer diagnosis has shown me anything, it is truly a blessing if you have your complete health.  My health was a thing taken for granted all my life until last June.

My own spiritual blind spot was being so unaware of physical suffering.  It’s a humbling and submissive experience.  You are in the hands and expertise of doctors that you pray know what is the best for you and you alone.  Being blind to physical suffering has me questioning my spiritual blindness too.  I know what I believe, but is there an area where I am unaware?  In this, I do trust that GOD will show me over time what I need to know.  And why do I believe this?  Because GOD’S word always reveals GOD’S wisdom to us.  Sometimes we understand it and sometimes we don’t. 

YOU CAN’T HAVE A DEPTH OF UNDERSTANDING OF GOD’S WORD UNLESS YOU COMMIT TO READING IT DAILY AND WANTING TO SEE.

Remember the two blind men in MATTHEW?  They said this:

MATTHEW 20: 30  “LORD, HAVE MERCY ON US, SON OF DAVID.”

They cried out to JESUS and then HE asked them: “what do you want me to do for you?”  The men replied this way:

MATTHEW 20: 33  “LORD, THEY SAID TO HIM, OPEN OUR EYES.”

And there it is, such a simple request, but coming from the depth of their souls.  A request that our own souls need, a need of the soul eyes wanted to see.  And once you know you have been spiritually blind, the truth from GOD will set you free! 

ASK GOD TO REVEAL TO YOU ANY SPIRITUAL BLIND SPOTS YOU MAY HAVE.

Blind spots can be defined as any area in which one fails to exercise judgement or discrimination.  And how often do we fail at this?  I cannot see the future, but my GOD can and wouldn’t I want HIM to lead the way for me? 

Some of us may fear knowing what our blind spots are, but let’s remember this:  JESUS responded to the two blind men with love and grace and that is good news for us too.

MATTHEW 20: 34  “MOVED WITH COMPASSION, JESUS TOUCHED THEIR EYES. IMMEDIATELY THEY COULD SEE, AND THEY FOLLOWED HIM.”

Oh to see and then to believe!  Oh to see and then to follow CHRIST!  When we are awakened to our blind spots, we leave behind our spiritual unawareness and move closer, abiding with the LORD because HE has set us free.

Photo by Kaba Camara on Pexels.com

This freedom we come to know in CHRIST can only be accredited to HIM…….HE GETS ALL THE GLORY!

Let’s not worry then, about those blind spots because GOD will reveal them to us over time.  It’s ok to have some, because a spiritual awakening is coming for us, more and more.  There is freedom to be found there in HIS truth.  A freedom like nothing this world can ever give!  Let JESUS open your eyes today…….and set you free!

PSALM 146: 8  “THE LORD OPENS THE EYES OF THE BLIND.”

maxine_signature


6 thoughts on “SPIRITUAL BLINDSPOTS

  1. This: “GOD’S word always reveals GOD’S wisdom to us. Sometimes we understand it and sometimes we don’t.” – Wow, such a nugget of wisdom there!
    May we always embrace what God wants to show us, turn to Him, and abide in Him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment