WEAK AND WOBBLY EFFORTS

If you evaluate your weekly walk with the LORD and usually I do on Sundays, sometimes I tend to see that I have successes and sometimes failures.

Like you, I want to make more of an impact in my sphere of influence and sometimes I feel my efforts at best are weak and wobbly.  How about you?

I’ll give you my most recent example…….last week I went to the library and had remembered on the way there, that a neighborhood friend who is in my book club, put a hold on the book we chose to read this month.  She has 2 small children and we all know it can be hard to do a simple trip anywhere.  I looked on the hold shelf and sure enough her book was there and I texted her to let her know I would retrieve it for her.

I got the book off the shelf and reached into my purse and realized something…….no library card!  Oh no!  My good intentions just went right out the window.  My effort in this case was weak and after the fact made me feel kinda wobbly…….why didn’t I check before I left to make sure I had my library card!

Here something so simple turned out to be a failure in my book!  I was following the command “love your neighbor as yourself” and sure enough, myself got in the way! Ugh!

In situations like these, we all need to realize that obedience, however frail and feeble, still is evidence of our love for CHRIST.  GOD knows what was in my heart on that day, and HE knows all your heart intentions too.

SOMETIMES WE FOLLOW THROUGH WELL, OTHER TIMES WE DON’T BUT…….

PROVERBS 16:9 “A MAN’S HEART PLANS HIS WAY, BUT THE LORD DIRECTS HIS STEPS.”

We all need to remember we are saved by HIS grace, not by our works.  Salvation is not by our own doing.  Salvation is a gracious gift from GOD……..

EPHESIANS 2: 8-10 “FOR BY GRACE YOU HAVE BEEN SAVED THROUGH FAITH, AND THAT NOT OF YOURSELVES; IT IS A GIFT OF GOD, NOT OF WORKS, LEST ANYONE SHOULD BOAST.  FOR WE ARE HIS WORKMANSHIP, CREATED IN CHRIST JESUS FOR GOOD WORKS, WHICH GOD PREPARED BEFOREHAND THAT WE SHOULD WALK IN THEM.”

We are not saved BY good works……..we are saved FOR good works!

Our good efforts, even if weak and wobbly, are all the result of our faith in CHRIST because we have been redeemed by HIM.  Let us continue to reflect HIS light in the fallen world around us……..and let us love on one another in the best way we can.

Our efforts might look like failures to us, but GOD has a way of letting others “see” what HE needs them to see just by our trying!  Let us never give up trying…….making an effort every single day for the LORD.  When we ask HIM, yes, HE directs our steps and will sometimes turn a weak attempt into something better.  Let’s trust HIM to accomplish what we start.  And let us remember that because of HIS gracious love, when we are weak……..then HE is truly strong!

JOEL 3: 10 “LET THE WEAK SAY, ‘I AM STRONG.’ “

Leave a Reply

