WHO ARE WE TO JUDGE?

 

I’LL ADMIT IT: I AM GUILTY OF JUDGING PEOPLE…….ARE YOU?  Sometimes, I will size something up or someone up with one look and a swift verdict.  But I know in my heart that this is NOT what GOD calls me to do, so I am seriously a work in progress.  And I’m not happy with myself for those judgmental thoughts.  GOD forgive me!

I read recently in my Max Lucado Bible this question that made me stop and really ponder and here it is:

“How can you dismiss a soul until GOD’S work is complete?”

Because we don’t know anyone’s before GOD and after GOD, how then can we even think we can be judge and jury? This is a serious human problem we all have and JESUS modeled it best for us.  HE was patient and kind with all the souls HE interacted with during HIS time on earth……HE knew the weight of anyone’s sins and saw them for the broken and beautiful souls that they were.  HE touched them, those hurting and broken, and HE changed their soul life forever.

So if JESUS never dismissed anyone, then how can we?  How can we overlook those that are hurting, or scared, or too poor or too sick?  We are commanded to “love others” and to take care of the poor and the widows.  I’ll admit it, the hard ones for me are the crabby, or nasty or mean people.  But yet, I must remember, I don’t know what hard things they have been through, so how can I really judge?

DARE WE PASS JUDGEMENT WHEN THE ONE WHO JUDGES, GIVES US GRACE TOO?

All I know is that I don’t like to be unfairly judged so how dare I do that to someone else?  Have you ever examined your heart to see if that judgmental attitude resides there?  And sometimes do you find yourself being that severe judge even of yourself?  If we put a face on anything, we make it real, we make it personal and we make it holy, because our JESUS looked at others as a holy and complete package.

1 CORINTHIANS 4: 4-5 “IT IS THE LORD WHO JUDGES ME.  THEREFORE DO NOT  PRONOUNCE JUDGEMENT BEFORE THE TIME, BEFORE THE LORD COMES, WHO WILL BRING TO LIGHT THE THINGS NOW HIDDEN IN DARKNESS AND WILL DISCLOSE THE PURPOSES OF THE HEART.”

Because GOD sees us and others through HIS holy eyes……HE is working on our souls, getting them ready for Heaven. HE refines, and HE gives and takes away…….HIS power works when we are weak and don’t see at all. HE looks deeply into our hearts to see our motives, in spite of our actions.  Are our motives pure or selfish?  In the end, HE is ONE judge and jury.  Because we will all stand before HIM and we will be rewarded accordingly.  GOD will reward not for the outward service, but for our inward devotion and our heart condition.  IS your HEART a JUDGMENTAL heart or is it a loving and forgiving heart?  Look closely inside and examine and pray for GOD to surgically remove what shouldn’t reside there in your sweet heart. I find HIS word does just that……

MATTHEW 7: 1-2 “JUDGE NOT , THAT YOU BE NOT JUDGED. FOR WITH THE JUDGEMENT YOU PRONOUNCE YOU WILL BE JUDGED, AND WITH THE MEASURE YOU USE IT WILL BE MEASURED TO YOU.”

You see, all unfair judgment, self-righteous judgment, hypocritical judgement is forbidden by GOD.  And when we judge, don’t we do so to make ourselves feel better or even more superior?  FATHER forgive us for we don’t know or realize the seriousness of our judgments!

I know that someday I will stand before the ultimate JUDGE, but I do know that GOD is fair and compassionate and better yet, I have my JESUS who is standing in the gap for me, for all my sins, including the sin of judgement.  So we all need to work on this while we are here, to see others through JESUS’ eyes instead of our own.  Let us love instead with the grace GOD extends toward us.  Let us give……. more……. grace!  Because when we do, we look upon others with love and compassion, and the judgement melts away!  Let us keep our eyes upon the ONE who gives grace and mercy when we need it most.  Let us learn from JESUS. As HE spent HIS time on earth, HE used good judgment for all, HE loved unconditionally and what an example HIS loving mercy was and is for us!  So let go my friends, and leave the judgment to GOD because HE knows best.  And when you do, that truth alone will set you free!

PSALM 119: 66 “TEACH ME GOOD JUDGMENT AND KNOWLEDGE, FOR I BELIEVE IN YOUR COMMANDMENTS.”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

