EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!

OVER AND OVER AGAIN I AM STRUCK BY GOD’S MAJESTY HERE IN ARIZONA.

I am finding that I cannot take a bad picture of a sunset and I see wonder in the sky put there by GOD’S handiwork. When we look to the heavens as the disciples did long ago, how can one not see the GOD of WONDER?

PSALM 77:14 “YOU ARE THE GOD OF GREAT WONDERS.”

According to the calendar we are about half-way through our year of 2017, and I must ask you, how is your walk with your word for the year?  Is it still evident or have you forgotten about it?

Remember choosing that one word in January?  How is it all going for you?  Did you set your word aside or has it been teaching you anything as you walk your path?

If you made that word choice through prayer and it was revealed to you, then your word should be a constant companion as you walk with GOD.  You can expect the unexpected with your word choice.  I find evidence of my word almost every day and especially in the scriptures I read. 

JOEL: 2:30 “AND I WILL SHOW WONDERS IN THE HEAVENS AND ON THE EARTH, BLOOD AND FIRE

AND COLUMNS OF SMOKE.”

Not only am I seeing GOD’S wonder in the sky and the simple world around me, but the wonder in HIS HOLY scripture is coming very much alive for me.

I recently purchased a John MacArthur study Bible which I highly recommend.  It has more study notes than all of my other study Bibles.  It takes me quite a while to read through a passage because of the in-depth comments relating to it. One note will lead me to another and another section and the evidence of GOD’S wonder in HIS word just jumps off the page at me.  I am in awe of HIS HOLY script to us!  Just imagine, our GOD thought so much of us, that a wisdom book of all we need to know on how to live this life was written and left for us to discover and learn from.  Isn’t that a wonder?

THE MOST EXCITING THING ABOUT GOD’S WORD IS THAT YOU CAN EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!

What I mean by the above statement is that you can reread a verse several times or in another translation and it’s meaning will transform you!  That’s what GOD’S word does! I encourage you to read those study notes usually at the bottom of the pages…….don’t ignore them just because you want to read or finish that particular chapter you are in. Often I find what I thought a passage meant got turned upside down by those extra explanations……..they are very valuable in helping you understand what you are reading.

I continue to wake each day and grasp time, looking for wonder of the LORD in those small moments……..I see in awe HIS wonder around me and I realize in my sphere of influence that I am to point others to HIS wonder as well.  And so, daily, I preach to myself that GOD is the GOD of all wonder and power and grace. When I take my eyes off of myself, I see HIS wonders before me and I praise HIM, always looking up.  But I need to praise first, always first and then to “see” with a thankful heart.  And when I do, I see even more of HIS wonder and my soul is filled!

In our hurried world, it is those who move slow that see it………HIS wonder.  I encourage you dear reader to……..

PSALM 46:10 “BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD”

GOD asks us to be…….. still.  Only if you slow, will you see and know.  Only if you are still, you can hear.  Only if you stop, you can praise.  Only if you are quiet you might hear the whisper of your one word calling you!  In all of this slowing, expect the unexpected…….. because that is how GOD works.

 HE TRULY IS A WONDROUS GOD! 

JOB 37:14 “HEAR THIS, O JOB; STOP AND CONSIDER THE WONDROUS WORKS OF GOD.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED!

  1. I love your word and that you see it everywhere!! Mine is “rooted” and it has definitely come up–it was even the theme for a day retreat I attended with the ministry I edit for! I will say, being pregnant makes WONDER real to me every day–we serve an awesome God!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, Tabitha! The WONDER of just life growing inside you is amazing. We all understand those 9 months of watching our bodies change and grow with the “little one” inside. Being rooted in GOD and GOD’S word is so important! Great word for the year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

