GOD’S GRACE AND OUR RESPONSE

BECAUSE GOD IS……..CAN WE ACCEPT ALL THINGS FROM HIS HAND, THE GOOD AND THE BAD? 

I often wonder, how do I see the pain around me and in the world and still…….thank HIM?  Paul said to give thanks in all things, not just when we feel like it or remember to.  And I’ll admit I am very quick to thank HIM for the good, but I question myself when I try as best I can to thank GOD for the hard stuff.  We all want to know why….. why does the bad happen, why why why??  I was just telling a friend, I am a happily ever after kind of girl. So when I hear the sad, the awful, the hard and the impossible, I do ask GOD why!

Seeing the bad and identifying it does make it real…….also thanking GOD for being present in the seeing, makes it real and thanking HIM, helps us lift our eyes off the bad stuff, and puts our gaze onto GOD.  That’s how we deal with the bad……look upon the Father of all things.  Most of the time we don’t understand do we?  But we can be certain of HIS WORD……

PSALM 95:2 “LET US COME BEFORE HIS PRESENCE WITH THANKSGIVING.”

I will admit to you I am having a hard time hearing about the hard stuff going on either with friends or with the world.  I know someone could say to me, well, that’s just life.  But when we understand that all things come from the FATHER, all things that HE allows, how do I process that?  My girlfriend who is one of the best Christians I know says, the system doesn’t work.  No it sure doesn’t because it is broken……..all of it, and so are we!

The good and the bad continues, and it does every day, so my gaze needs to shift towards GOD.  Doesn’t satan want me to sneer at the bad and when I do, aren’t I playing into his hand? Wouldn’t it be better if I just thanked my GOD in all things? See, turning my head from the bad, realizing it is there, but giving it all to GOD, even when I don’t understand…….isn’t that the better choice?

Our GOD doesn’t waste a thing, even though we do.  Because HIS grace is sufficient in all things……..yes HIS irresistible GRACE. 

ZACHARIAH 12:10 “AND I WILL POUR ON THE HOUSE OF DAVID AND ON THE INHABITANTS OF JERUSALEM THE SPIRIT OF GRACE AND SUPPLICATION; THEN THEY WILL LOOK ON ME WHOM THEY PIERCED.”

To lift our eyes to HIM, in all things, no matter what the circumstances……..that’s the solution to dealing with the hard stuff. I might not like it when the tough stuff comes, but if my gaze changes upward, aren’t I acknowledging the ONE who can and does have control in all things?  Isn’t my GOD bigger still, than all and every problem on this earth?

If I accept only the good and reject the bad, isn’t that kind of a “selective” faith?

Thanking HIM in all, prevents me from trying to fix it all too, because I certainly am not GOD!  HE is I AM……our Sovereign GOD, omnipotent and supreme.  His story is not our story!  Once I agree and see all of that, then I can truly turn my eyes upon HIM in all things.  And only this can happen because of HIS grace for me.  So let our eyes be wide open, to the good and the bad, no matter where or how.  HE knows, HE allows, but HE loves and has gives us an eternal hope in JESUS CHRIST, so let’s remember that when we pray: thy will be done. 

JAMES 4:6 “BUT HE GIVES MORE GRACE.”

4 thoughts on “GOD’S GRACE AND OUR RESPONSE

  1. Thank you for this post Maxine. It really reached into my heart this morning as I deal with hard things in my life, to keep my eyes fixed on our Heavenly Father, and to Him be thankful for ALL things. He alone is our shelter in the storms of life. His Will be done and always, all things for His purpose. Praise God!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks sweet girlfriend……yes it seems that whenever we think one hard thing is gone, another one comes. But that is life and that is GOD refining us. Are we all willing to walk through the fire for HIM? HIS will and not mine!

      Like

  2. Wonderful truth here, Maxine. Coping with the bad things of this world really does require an act of will on our parts, knowing that God truly is in control. We can choose to withdraw and mope, or we can choose to praise God and seek His glorious face in the absolute darkest of times. I love 1 Corinthians 13:12: “For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” Here is the promise of perfect knowledge when we reach eternity. For now, though, in this life, we choose hope in our Savior rather than the despair Satan would have us wallow in. Thank you for the excellent post, Maxine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi David…..

    Yes, I find that seeing the light in the midst of the darkness is something I hold onto with all my might! I have found that my spirit really does “lift” when I say: thy will be done, LORD. Some people are not good with submitting to GOD that way. It is a very hard thing, but you can learn to be intentional about it with the help of the Holy Spirit. Your kind words are more appreciated than you will ever know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

