WHAT ARE THE PROVISIONS FOR YOUR JOURNEY?

In about another month I will be visiting my son again in Colorado.  Like anyone else, I am already starting to think what I need to take with me.  I love to pack for the warmer months because I can always fit more in my suitcase!  Sandals don’t take up much room either. But deciding what to bring always throws me into a quandry.  Why can’t it just be simple?

When Jesus sent out the twelve disciples HE said: “Don’t carry a traveler’s bag with a change of clothes and sandals or even a walking stick.  Don’t hesitate to accept hospitality, because those who work deserve to be fed.” MATTHEW 10:10

How simple life was back in the day!  But the true message here is this:  the provision for our journeys shouldn’t be about the “stuff”, it should be about what we carry with us in our hearts, minds, and souls.  We really don’t need a lot of equipment for the journey, because we are the equipment.  GOD will equip us with all we need to do the work for the Kingdom as we travel along the way.

Trust GOD to equip you for all situations and people who cross your path during your journey.

Your journey in and of itself does become your mission field.  Striking up a conversation with just about anyone could be an opportunity to share your faith.  I trust that GOD will give me “the right words at the right time.” MATTHEW 10:19

My provision for my journey is my faith and HIS WORD.  I need to carry those two things in my mind and heart at all times.  And I need to just let GOD do the rest, but be aware and alert for that “someone” who needs to somehow hear from HIM.  That’s where being the equipped is so simple…….it could be a smile, a word or a phrase from you that draws someone. Because HIS light shines so bright in this dark world we are in, I believe HIS grace within us will be seen as very different. 

I WONDER……..how many pairs of sandals did JESUS wear out during HIS ministry?  Because HE walked everywhere, those sandals must have taken a beating!  I’m sure HIS basic equipment sustained HIM and others offered HIM what HE needed, but GOD provided all the rest and JESUS spent time alone with HIS Father to know and rely completely on HIM.  All that JESUS needed came from HIS Father.

If you are wondering about how GOD provides, just let these words rest deeply upon you…….

ISAIAH 58:11 “THE LORD WILL GUIDE YOU ALWAYS; HE WILL SATISFY YOUR NEEDS IN A SUN-SCORCHED LAND AND WILL STRENGTHEN YOUR FRAME.”

No matter where we go, where our journey takes us, GOD equips us!  HE gives us all we need and……..”may HE equip you with all you need for doing HIS will.” Hebrews 13: 21

The LORD will equip us for doing HIS will when we surrender to it.  We do pray each day: “thy will be done.”

When we trust GOD in our journey, we know HE follows before us, behind us and alongside us, giving us just what is needed at the right time.  As we travel down this journey of life, let us be secure in the LORD, knowing our sandals are headed in the right direction!  We are equipped right from the start because of our faith first and foremost in GOD!  Be authentic in the way GOD designed you, trust it, trust HIM and trust the journey.  May your travels be memorable ones, and may the journey you are on, always lead you and others to the LORD! 

Travel with joy in your heart and grace in your speech because you are HIS hands and feet.

As I ponder about what to bring with me this May, I won’t forget to take all those GODLY provisions I need to sustain me along my journey.  My Bible will go in my suitcase first! Being touched by HIS love and WORD, will help me touch others, just as JESUS did, bringing praise for the GOD of the universe.  

May you be blessed in all your journeys this year, and may all your provisions come from the LORD!

PSALM 16:11 “YOU WILL SHOW ME THE PATH OF LIFE.”

  

2 thoughts on “WHAT ARE THE PROVISIONS FOR YOUR JOURNEY?

  1. So glad you get to visit your son again! 🙂 It’s funny, I packed for the Florida road trip with only about 15 items of clothing and didn’t even wear them all!! Being me and the boys, no Drew, we definitely had to rely on my folks, and on God, to lead and sustain us. We even stayed just the three of us in the middle of St. Augustine and had a lovely time, with very little “stuff.” It’s amazing how little we need, and how faithful God is to provide.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES I do pay attention especially when I am traveling to those around me…….and I am thankful GOD does give me courage when I need it to strike up that conversation! Blessings, friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

