A HEALTHY SPIRITUAL HEART

What is the condition of your heart?  I don’t mean your physical heart.  It seems that people are well aware of their heart and health in general, but what about your spiritual heart?  Have you taken an inventory lately?

Your spiritual heart supplies nutrients, energy and strength to your faith, actions, thoughts and words.  Yes, your spiritual heart is the wellspring of life and the condition of that spiritual heart affects your life.

PROVERBS 4: 23 says this:

“Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life.”

The Message Bible words the above this way:

“Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that’s where life starts.”

To be vigilant means to be alert and watchful to keep oneself from danger.  Falling into danger can mean just about anything.  It can mean having envy, pride, hate, anger or insecurity.  Let’s add being deceitful and lying.  The list can grow long my friends.  And if we aren’t watchful and aware of it, before we know, the enemy has had his way with us and our hearts are not pure.

Don’t you want GOD to help you clean out that stinking sin before it’s too late?  Remember that your heart is the beat of your soul.  Job understood that when he said…….

“How my heart yearns within me!” Job: 19:27

When my heart starts yearning for anything other than my LORD, then I know my heart isn’t in the right place.  I have started to use my heart condition as a measure as to how my relationship with GOD is doing, not to mention all other relationships in my life.  Because satan wants to destroy our relationships, we better guard our hearts above all else!

One thing that I find that helps when I become anxious or sad or envious or you name it, I quickly praise the LORD.  Not for what my heart is up to, but for HIM making me aware.  I really want the beat of my heart to be in step with GOD.  HE has made HIS imprint on my heart and it’s up to me to keep it healthy.

Having a heart full of praise and thankfulness makes all the difference……..this is the way to guard it and to be intentional about keeping a heart after GOD instead of things of this world.

Someday we will stand in the Holy place of GOD.  Keeping your heart guarded, is keeping your heart for HIM and keeping your heart for GOD means intentional awareness of where your heart is.  So let us keep the condition of our hearts a healthy heartbeat away from GOD!

Remember the LORD is interested in your unique heartbeat in this life, not your comfort.  Do whatever you have to do to keep your heart pure and joyful.  Let it continually fill with goodness, grace and mercy.  

In our days, we can learn to be the heartbeat of our LORD who loves us above all else.  Isn’t it a wonder that HE longs for us to be close in heart to HIM and to HIM only!  We can be HIS heart in the world if we daily examine our soul. We need it and so does our world.

PSALM 24:3-4 “OR WHO MAY STAND IN HIS HOLY PLACE?  HE WHO HAS CLEAN HANDS AND A PURE HEART.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

