TO LISTEN IS A WONDER

locomotive-60539__340

How well do you listen?  I wonder………which do I do more: open my mouth or listen with my two ears?  God gave us two ears to listen intently, but only one mouth to speak kindly.  I know HE did that for a good reason.  And honestly folks, we really aren’t listening to each other anymore.

We seem to be all talk and no action.  We think we know better than anyone else…….but oh if we would just listen to one another, really listen, how much more could we love one another with an open heart of compassion.

FIRST THE EYES MUST SEE……..BUT THEN WE NEED TO LISTEN AND WONDER.

If we listen in wonder, what a reverential life we would lead……what a life filled with the wonder of sights and sounds never to be taken for granted…….ever.  We would hear GOD-GIVEN sounds made just for us.  I think we need to train ourselves to listen well because we don’t seem to come by it naturally. 

We recently moved to another neighborhood and I really think the LORD placed me here because of the sounds that happen all around me.  Some are my absolute favorite.  One in particular is the sound of a train.  We live near train tracks and since there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to the train’s schedule, I was wondering when we moved in, when I would hear the train’s whistle.  Sure enough, in the middle of our first night in our new house I heard it! I smiled and went back to sleep.  The sound of a train is a comfort to me.

train

Could the wonder of listening to a train be in my memory?  When I was a little girl, my uncle who was a conductor, took me with him on a train.  Oh the thrill of riding along with him!  I remember I loved it!

I asked one of my new neighbors how she enjoyed living in the neighborhood.  Her response was: “don’t you just love the train!”  I guess I’m not the only one who listens intently for it to go by!

And could it be that these specific train sounds were chosen, right timed just for me? GOD chooses so I will look at HIM and choose back…….a choice to be thankful, grateful for HIS love reaching down.

GOD’S fingerprints are all over the sounds of this world: a bird singing, the wind blowing thru aspen trees in the woods, a cow mooing, or a rooster crowing.  Some of my favorite sounds are Church bells ringing, or a single bell chime on a grandfather clock.  Who doesn’t love the sound of the symphony!  Another favorite sound of mine is the neighborhood ice cream truck with it’s joyous tune that draws children outside for a cold treat.  Think about it: what do you love to hear? What sound makes you smile?

Beautiful sounds are sent from a beautiful GOD……..a GOD of Wonder.

Our world can be so noisy that we close our ears to all the chaos.  Find time to just listen without cell phones and the rat race.  Be still in the quiet.  You can find peace there waiting for you, but you have to intentionally search for it and listen.

My new word for 2017 is: wonder…….. it is already teaching me about our GOD of wonder.  I want to learn to live fully in the wonder of the small and the wonder of the present.  It is such a gift to learn to live there and love anything or anyone around you.  

PSALM 8: 3-4 “WHEN I CONSIDER YOUR HEAVENS, THE WORK OF YOUR FINGERS, THE MOON AND THE STARS, WHICH YOU HAVE ORDAINED, WHAT IS MAN THAT YOU ARE MINDFUL OF HIM……”

You see, the LORD was mindful of us when HE made the earth and all sight and sounds were well thought out by a great CREATOR……just for you and just for me!

Take time each and every day to be still……and know that HE is GOD!  Sit quietly for a bit and listen……you just might hear HIS still small voice calling your name, and if and when you hear, it might make you wonder why you don’t listen even more!

PSALM 89:5 “ALL HEAVEN WILL PRAISE YOUR GREAT WONDERS, LORD.”

 xmas-star

2 thoughts on “TO LISTEN IS A WONDER

  1. Reading this you’ve given me cause to think about the sounds that bring me comfort & love!! I love the sound of the porch gate opening in the evening because it means my husband is safely home from work. I love the sound of the special ring tone I’ve assigned to my daughter when she calls me because I get to hear her sweet voice!! The sounds of my furr babies make me happy. The voice of a special friend across the many miles that separate us brings her close to me. Most of all, I love the soft quiet voice of The Holy Spirit when He speaks to me!! I am so thankful I can hear!💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

