GUEST POST BY JULIE PALERMO

15873253_10210612840791395_3136963225423937149_n

TODAY WE ARE JOINED BY MY DEAR FRIEND JULIE, WHO TOOK MY CHALLENGE ABOUT CHOOSING A WORD FOR 2017.  SHE IS A MOTHER OF TWO GROWN DAUGHTERS AND ONE GRANDCHILD.  SHE ALSO HAS AN ADOPTED SON AND HIS WIFE AND TWO MORE GRANDDAUGHTERS.  JULIE IS A PREACHER’S WIFE AND RECENTLY RETIRED FROM BEING A DEPUTY SHERIFF.

I LOVE HER HEART FOR GOD.  SHE IS AN INSPIRATION TO ME AS A SISTER IN CHRIST. LET US WELCOME HER FOLLOWING THOUGHTS WRITTEN HERE!

 

Hi, my name is Julie and during my recent visit to Arizona with my friend of 26 years, I was challenged to choose a word to embrace for 2017.  Every year my friend Maxine chooses a word that she has carefully prayed about in the final months of the previous year. Once chosen, I’ve seen how she applies her word to all she does……Bible study, writing, her marriage, her friendships, her son and her Church.  It has been amazing to share the journey with her as she shares scripture of her word that comes alive and is a light to her everyday life.

SOMETIMES CHOOSING A WORD CAN BE AS SIMPLE AS OPENING A GOOD BOOK…….

As I said, Maxine challenged me and I agreed, knowing in my mind that I would probably forget!  But on New Year’s day, I opened a book that I purchased in Arizona by Lysa TerKeurst entitled: Uninvited.  I read the preface which said: “and to anyone who has felt the sting of rejection, grieved the deep loss of a relationship that was there one day and gone the next, or questioned whether GOD has any good plans for you at all……I understand.  GOD made sure to get these words of HOPE to you”. And there it was! The word: HOPE.  I knew immediately that I needed some of that……GOD had me open that particular book at that moment and to read that one preface.  HOPE, yes HOPE!  That was what I hoped to focus on this coming year; to learn all about it, to listen and watch for it.  HOPE.  I immediately texted Maxine to tell her with much excitement that I had chosen my word.  Or should I say, GOD revealed my word to me, very simply and straight forward.

I Googled the word HOPE and the first image I got is the one shown above in this post.  I immediately made this scripture with the word HOPE in it my new cover picture on my Facebook page and shared with all my friends that I had accepted the challenge. I had chosen my word for the New Year! I was excited! Now my chosen word had a purpose.

Next, I looked it up in the dictionary and I believe the reason for GOD choosing this word for me is multi-faceted.  In the dictionary, HOPE has more than one meaning:

as a verb it means wanting something to happen……

as a noun it means a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen, a feeling of trust…….

So here are the many things I HOPE for as I ponder my new word in the New Year:

HOPE for a cure for Cystic Fibrosis…….a fatal disease that my granddaughter Mahayla was born with.

HOPE that our new Church we will move to in June will love us, and help us settle in our new surroundings.

HOPE that our present Church will embrace a new preacher that will be just what they need.

HOPE for peace and clarity for my daughter as she ends one chapter in her life and begins a new one.

HOPE for complete healing for a dear friend who recently suffered a stroke at age 60.

HOPE  that the device inside my nephew will help regulate his seizures.

HOPE that my Breast Cancer will never return.

HOPE I will see my parents in Heaven one day……I lost my Daddy this past summer.

HOPE my other daughter and son-in-law will be blessed with a bundle of joy, whether on natural terms or other.

HOPE……. its because of the prayers from some of my dearest friends!

And I HOPE that my one word for 2017 will do wonderful things in my life this year……for my HOPE is in HIM!

Thank you for allowing me to enter your hearts for a brief moment, and thanks to Maxine for challenging me to share some hopeful words here with you. 

May these words, words of hope, speak and encourage you in some way……in a way to choose…..just…….one…….word.

.word-907382_960_720

Many blessings,

JULIE PALERMO

PSALM 39:7 “MY ONLY HOPE IS IN YOU.”

One thought on “GUEST POST BY JULIE PALERMO

  1. What a very beautiful post Julie! It was such a pleasure to meet you in December when you visited Maxine here in Arizona. I love your word for this year…..your list of things you Hope for is deeply touching. I will pray for you and yours, and Hope that your Hopes will all come true. I too believe in Psalm 39:7 “My only Hope is in You” ~ Him
    Thank you so much for sharing and may your year of Hope be blessed immeasurably.

    Like

Leave a Reply

