MY ONE WORD: WONDER

15624705_1872103433025887_8432235594892967936_n1

WONDER…….the word itself actually means two very different things.  First to see the wonder in something with exciting amazed admiration; to see something that causes astonishment.  And a second meaning is to wonder about something. To wonder about something means to feel curiosity or doubt about a particular thing.

The first meaning is most clear to me and seeing GOD’S wonder in the world and HIS word is possible.  You don’t always have to be surrounded by grandeur to see HIS wonder………

14705165_618204791699288_1134623170104393728_n1

You can see wonder in the small too……….

14718524_1199296746824520_8807989780970209280_n

COULD IT BE THAT AN HONEST AND TRUE FAITH SEES THE WONDER OF GOD?

Can I see wonder in my everyday? Isn’t life in and of itself……. a wonder?  The fact that the earth spins on it’s perfect axis and we wake each day to a sunrise and a sunset is a wonder! 

But in all this wondering about my word: wonder, my eyes must see first.  I think some people see deep, while others don’t.  My gaze must always remain on the LORD.  If I focus on HIM, the wonder of HIM spills over and onto all else in my life.

I recently had a friend visit from out of town and I pointed out to her how our trees are really looking like fall even though officially the calendar says winter.  In AZ we don’t see snow in the low desert, but our trees go through a fall period and then are bare only a couple of months before spring.  As I said this to my friend, she responded by saying she hadn’t noticed them.  

FIRST THE EYES MUST SEE…….

15034579_577262442398548_1364921837661716480_n1

In order for me to see wonder, I first have to look for it, then name it.  I have to search and know that wonder is in the present and the here and now.  But first I must look.

If you think about it, children are full of wonder.  Every small thing they come across is exciting and interesting to them.  I remember when my son was little, he would find the smallest bug on the sidewalk or flower and just be in awe of it. Children see the small and are amazed. 

DEAR LORD, MAKE ME SEE LIKE A CHILD SEES.

Why do we as adults reason things to death and make all of life so complicated?  When we rush and hurry and live in the fast lane, I’m afraid we miss the true wonder of GOD!

It will be an interesting path and journey for me this year with my word.  Have you chosen yours yet?  

If not, stay tuned here for a friend of mine who will guest post next time about her word for 2017.

In the meantime, I pray we will all learn to be a child of wonder.  May we realize soul deep how wonderful our LORD is and how much HE truly loves us. Let us continue to discover all the wonders of HIM.

PSALM 26:7 “I COME TO YOUR ALTAR, O LORD, SINGING A SONG OF THANKSGIVING AND TELLING OF ALL YOUR WONDERS.”

3 thoughts on “MY ONE WORD: WONDER

  1. What a beautiful reminder about the wonder of our sovereign and Holy God. I love your comments about the wonder our children and grandchildren express of the tiniest of His creation! His wonder many times leaves me trembling and tearful, just overwhelmed deep in my soul. What a “wonder”-ful word for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

