ONE WORD FOR 2017

new-year-1940308__340

If you are like me, you are ready for a New Year with new and exciting possibilities.  In the past few years I have been choosing a word to live by for a full year.  I want GOD to teach me all HE can about HIS chosen word for me.  My word for 2016 was: SURRENDER.  It was a difficult year living that word out, but I learned much, and was humbled.

This year I had a few words in play, but one began showing up, over and over……..it appeared in songs and in scripture and in many early morning devotions.  So I’m excited to share that my word for 2017 is:

WONDER

The most interesting statement I have read about WONDER was from Ann Voskamp’s devotional.  It said:

A RADICAL WONDER STUNS – HUSHES THE SOUL.  TO REACH WONDER, ONE MUST EXAMINE CLOSE.

I love to look close and see…….one must always see first.  One must recognize and then name. So looking at GOD, one sees HIS wonder in HIS world and HIS word.

Evidently all the great artists and thinkers stay awake to the wonder of GOD’S world.  I want to be like that.  I never want to grow old and cynical and think that the world is going to hell and that GOD has abandoned us.  How can one ever think that when all you need to do is really examine everything around you……

tree-1939131__340

lake-1936627__340

The dictionary says, to wonder, means to look with amazed admiration.  Yes I want some of that and what better place to fix my gaze, but solely on the LORD!

It should be an interesting year.  I’m looking forward to learning about the wonder of GOD.  I know that HIS wisdom and knowledge is vast and wide and endless.  This alone makes me WONDER!!

I have already heard from a few friends on their words……..one chose HOPE, another OBEDIENCE.  So you get the idea. Pray faithfully about your word and GOD will reveal it to you and ask HIM to help you stick with it for a full year.  I promise it will be a journey in spiritual growth for you and your word will become a friend that you will want to embrace.  Not at all like those resolutions that no one ever keeps past February.

So friends, let me hear from you if your word is already evident and let’s learn and search together as we grow in faith this coming year of 2017.  Blessings friends and HAPPY NEW YEAR as well.

PSALM 136:4  “…….to HIM WHO ALONE DOES GREAT WONDERS, FOR HIS STEADFAST LOVE ENDURES FOREVER.”

 

Leave a Reply

