WHY SURRENDER HAS BEEN A GOOD THING

14295494_1744987095755914_1933582093_n1

I don’t know about you but thinking about my word: surrender, doesn’t seem like a good thing to do.  It is a hard thing to do. I guess I have had a negative view of it until GOD brought it to light and my attention to choose surrender, as my word for 2016.  

As the year progresses, I do hope you chose a word that GOD has used to grow you spiritually.  September will be gone before we know it and I hope that your word is still teaching you much about yourself and about the LORD.  

I have found that my fear and uncertainty about many things has required me to surrender to HIS WILL when nothing else seemed to work.  If your ear and eyes are too much into this world, then your soul needs attending to in many ways.  Only GOD and HIS WORD can help you address those issues and we just can’t fix our so called “stuff” without HIS help.  But even then, surrender comes into play in a big way.

Honestly I have gotten to a point of asking: why in the world do we fight HIM so much and why do we think we know better than our Creator?  All those self-help books, friends advice or whatever you decide to do, is nothing like the Sovereign wisdom of the LORD!  But first, we must decided to surrender our will.  Have you tried?

What if I would seek HIM more………seek HIM first……..seek HIM only…….seek HIM often?  My surrender of my life to GOD seems to go this way:

SURRENDER = MORE TRUST = HUMILITY

To humble myself before HIM is to realize that yes “in all things” GOD really does know better……..

MATTHEW 6:33 “BUT SEEK FIRST THE KINGDOM OF GOD……”

Seek first, not second or after I have spoken to family and friends.  But first, above all else, a priority above all else……

PSALM 138: 1 “I WILL PRAISE YOU WITH MY WHOLE HEART.”

When I surrender myself before the LORD, then HE exalts.  Is my surrender with knees down to the floor HOLY?  A HOLY GOD has chosen little old me to reside in my heart.  Shouldn’t I surrender my soul to HIM?  Because HE does great things, and is always a good GOD and works for the good of those who know HIM.

How often do you come across a problem that seems to have no earthly solution?  Surrender to HIM.  Surrender your heart, soul and mind.  A.W. Tozer has said: “the Holy Spirit never enters a man and then lets him live like the world. You can be sure of that.” That’s why surrender is so hard.  It goes against the grain of this world……a world where strength and dominance is key.

JOHN 3: 30 “HE MUST INCREASE, BUT I MUST DECREASE.”

Self-sufficiency then is a lie……..a lie the world tells you……..the lie that says you can do it all by yourself!  But GOD says that when you are weak HE is strong.  So in my surrender, it might seem like a weakness, but really by my relying on GOD……..I am strong!

GOD chose surrender for me this year……..it’s been hard, but very revealing.  I have learned much about myself and being obedient in my submission when I had to fight against it! I hope that you can look at the journey you have been on with your word and see growth!!  If you can write down the growth you’ve seen in yourself, that’s even better.  Friends enjoy the rest of the year with your word………may it continue to be evident in all you do.

1 PETER 5: 5 “YES, ALL OF YOU BE SUBMISSIVE TO ONE ANOTHER, AND BE CLOTHED WITH HUMILITY, FOR GOD RESISTS THE PROUD, BUT GIVES GRACE TO THE HUMBLE.”

14288173_1758034971119591_55852621_n1

 

Leave a Reply

