WHY A DAILY DOSE OF AWE IS A GOOD THING.

Ci6uvO3WEAIqWEY

Our recent vacation near the ocean once again allowed me to be awe-inspired.  Honestly, how can anyone look at those beautiful waves and not see a Creator’s hand in them!  The ocean is so vast and full of HIS wonder……..

PSALM 95:5 “THE SEA IS HIS, FOR HE MADE IT……..”

Awe is a great emotional response that we feel and know when looking at nature or anything around us.  It is an intentional sort of being……..we “see” and then respond with awe.  GOD’S beauty often leaves me speechless………how about you?

I read recently, that having a sense of awe actually lowers certain chemicals in the body that control inflammation! Isn’t it just like our GOD to make HIS awe giving beauty good for our health!

My father was an awe-inspired man.  He continually pointed out GOD’S beauty to me as a little girl.  Since we lived in the city of Chicago, he did have to search for GOD’S beauty, but was always able to spot it either in a flower, tree or sunset.  I learned over time to “observe” and “look” for those GOD-given gifts.  I would say I learned from my father that beauty shouldn’t be taken for granted.

Being in awe should make you stop and smell the roses so to speak………..it is intentional and over time becomes a natural part of you.  I am always “looking” no matter what I am doing or where I am going………

CjF5tJQVEAIFz80

I took the above picture this morning just coming out of Church, being in awe of the San Tans in the distance and the bright blue sky.

I took the time to stop and admire GOD’S handiwork.  On a beautiful day how can you not!  But how wonderful it is to know that being in an awed state of mind is actually good for your health too!

Next time you go on vacation or just a simple walk, let yourself feel and know that wonder and awe.  GOD gave it to us for a reason.  It is a special gift………a gift to see beauty and blessings and the eternal light all around us.

To be awe-inspired is to see GOD for who HE is too……..and to be awed by all HIS goodness.  Your awe should recognize that HE is the ALPHA and the OMEGA of the universe.  Our Sovereign GOD will awe-inspire us and in turn our thanks should return to HIM with a full heart.  Our awesome GOD chose us to worship HIM for all that HE is.  HE chose to come and abide in each one of our hearts, and for that, we should be grateful too.  I challenge you right now to search for something that will leave you awed.  Let GOD’S peace and beauty wash over you like fresh rain. May you be awe-struck as you fear and worship our LORD.  And remember, keeping your eyes on HIS wonder will keep you healthy too!

PSALM 33:8 “LET ALL THE EARTH FEAR THE LORD; LET ALL THE INHABITANTS OF THE WORLD STAND IN AWE OF HIM.”

4 thoughts on “WHY A DAILY DOSE OF AWE IS A GOOD THING.

  1. Creator of the universe gives us daily sights, smells and sounds to be in awe of His creation and to show us how much He loves us. Thank you for reminding me to “stop and smell the roses” in the fast paced world we live in.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sometimes I “see” GOD so clearly that I want time to stand still in the moment……..that is awe. Thanks sweet friend for always commenting to me. Your words mean so much!

    Like

  3. Thank you for this post. We pray to God, thank Him, and worship him (in church), but as you have reminded me, we too often fail to just sit back and be in awe of Him. He is an awesome God indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

