SPIRITUAL GRIT

12237611_179985712346696_697235241_n

What is the condition of your faith right now……..right in this very moment?

I have to ask because I wonder myself if my faith is strong, sure and steadfast.  Does your faith waver at the first bump in the road?  And who do you go to when the tough times arise?  Do you call on a friend, loved one or do you first call on GOD?

IS GOD YOUR FIRST GO TO OR YOUR LAST THOUGHT?  HAVE YOU MATURED INTO HAVING SPIRITUAL GRIT?

You see, if you go through life depending on yourself, you will never know the power and life-blood of GOD.  You will never know HIS love, HIS grace and HIS peace. But first you must give up the control and surrender yourself to HIM.  I was taught to “do things myself” as a child and therefore became quite independent.  I knew I could take care of myself, especially after living out of a suitcase and on the road with an Ice Show that I skated with.  Believe me, I felt quite self-sufficient then and really wasn’t walking closely with the LORD.

I know now that HE always had me in HIS capable HANDS, because HE kept me safe in all my comings and goings.  But sooner rather than later my heart was broken and then I returned to the LORD.  I realized that life wasn’t working out the way I wanted it to……..I came to the end of myself.  Oh those tough thoughts that whirl through the head when you are in turmoil!  All you can do is to cry out………surrender……..and give it all up, because you just can’t do it anymore!

Surrender………surrender……….surrender.  Our will…….. eventually has to be…….. B  R  O  K  E  N.  Have you experienced that yet?  I have, to the point where I realized that it isn’t my will at all anymore…….it’s HIS will.

When I surrender my control, I find that GOD is more capable than me

to take care of my issues in a very full and powerful way!

You might not feel that GOD is in control, but HE is, by HIS power!  PSALM 62: 11 says: “Twice I have heard this: that power belongs to GOD.” How often do we feel powerless in a situation?  But in our weakness HE is strong!  Yes, GOD’S power can heal, protect and even restore.  LUKE 5:17 says:  “And the power of the LORD was present to heal them.” Notice this scripture says them?  GOD’S power can transcend all of our lives at any given time and anywhere.  Since HE knows the ending to our stories, we can take comfort in knowing HE has our backs and knows really, what the true best thing is for us.

If you have been touched by GOD’S power in any way, you learn over time to TRUST and with that trust comes spiritual grit. Scripture tells us many times over that tough times will come upon us and that those very things will produce in us: perseverance.  If our faith isn’t tested thru the fire of trials, then we will never have spiritual grit. Those trials that HE allows develops our very character, trust and belief.

I am learning that my faith bends and it is flexible, but it never breaks.  My faith is becoming more like a rubber band……..you can twist it, or pull it and it will snap back into place.  Somehow my trusted faith got to where it is today, and I am starting to have a little joy in those trials, because I know on the other end of them is an all powerful GOD working HIS goodness into me, however HE sees fit.  

Remember James said: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  James 1: 2-4

And what James says my friends, describes what spiritual grit is all about!

11850050_973793395996089_560875228_n 

ROMANS 5:  3-4  “AND NOT ONLY THAT, BUT WE ALSO GLORY IN TRIBULATIONS, KNOWING THAT TRIBULATION PRODUCES PERSEVERANCE, AND PERSEVERANCE CHARACTER; AND CHARACTER, HOPE.”

2 thoughts on “SPIRITUAL GRIT

Leave a Reply

