WHY THE ALABASTER JAR IS IMPORTANT

download (4)

I LOVE ANY STORY IN THE BIBLE THAT SHOWS HOW JESUS RELATED TO WOMEN……..  

There is more than one story in the Gospels about a women who broke an alabaster jar to pour expensive perfume on JESUS head and feet. One story found in John 12: 3-8 tells us it is Mary of Bethany. Two other accounts are found in Matthew 26: 6-13 and Mark 14: 3-9.  In all three accounts we learn that the jar was alabaster and was broken by the woman in order to pour out the perfume. Also, in all three accounts the woman was criticized for wasting the expensive perfume that was worth a year in wages.  The woman’s extravagant gesture touched JESUS and HE rebuked those who were indignant over what she had done for HIM.

If we think about her, she chose a bold way to worship her GOD and she gave her all for HIM.  What she did with the breaking of the beautiful jar and the pouring of the pleasing scent of perfume, was a pure act of love……..a total surrender of herself, her actions and her pride. There were several men reclining at a table for a banquet that obviously she wasn’t invited to.  It must have taken courage to come in and just boldly surrender to her LORD.

I love JESUS response to her and isn’t it just like HIM?  He tells everyone that what she has done will be remembered and discussed and preached throughout the world. And so here we are………thinking of her!

I want to be like this woman………a woman willing to do anything for HIM.  A woman who wants to be near JESUS, to love HIM with ultimate devotion and abandon of will.  I want to have courage like her in the face of adversity.  And I want to show through my actions, that my faith is real and authentic.

images (4)

I tend to think we are more like the broken jar that was left after pouring out the perfume.  We all are broken in some way and we must become broken in order for JESUS and HIS love to pour into us.  HIS response to all our brokenness repairs, restores and completes us.  JESUS saw the complete devotion of the woman with the alabaster jar and said: “Leave her alone. She has done a beautiful thing to me.” Mark 14: 6.  HE is saying here that even when we think our own attempts at devotion or actions of love are feeble, that HE sees the beauty in it all because HE knows what is in our hearts, in spite of what anyone around us thinks or says! And don’t we always worry what others think of us? I can imagine the smile on the woman’s face as she left JESUS realizing that HE said her actions were beautiful!

I wonder about this woman………after she broke the jar and left, did she always keep it as a reminder of her extravagant love action?  I think I would have kept the jar, realizing what it was used for and why. But I know she never forgot what JESUS did for her in the midst of a crowd of men and I am sure she never forgot what HIS words were to her: “she has done a beautiful thing to ME.”

We all are glorious women to HIM because of HIS grace and love………when we choose JESUS, we choose the best thing and in choosing the best thing, we are choosing something beautiful. Remember this the next time you do something extravagant for the LORD!

MARK 14: 3 “WHILE HE WAS EATING, A WOMAN CAME IN WITH A BEAUTIFUL ALABASTER JAR OF EXPENSIVE PERFUME MADE FROM ESSENCE OF NARD. SHE BROKE OPEN THE JAR AND POURED THE PERFUME OVER HIS HEAD.”

 

2 thoughts on “WHY THE ALABASTER JAR IS IMPORTANT

  1. Without cracks The Light can’t get in!! I was a very broken jar of clay but Christ is The Ultimate Potter & He gathered my broken piece & made me beautiful in His Eyes. And everytime I topple over & a new crack appears He picks me up with His Loving Hands & makes me whole again!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

