ARE YOU FLEXIBLE FOR GOD?

12301253_439161386278799_857152013_n

ARE YOU ALL CHARTS AND CALENDARS OR ARE YOU ALL WHIMS AND SPONTANEOUS?  ARE YOU FLEXIBLE FOR GOD?

If you think about it, rigid people, those who follow a tight schedule, have no room for whim, spontaneity or fun.  Do you know someone like this? They are hard to be around.  Some have everything scheduled and planned out. I wonder if there is any meaning in their days?

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that people who plan, get things done.  And I’ll admit, I do need my calendar to remind me of important dates.  But I wonder if in all of our busyness and planning, we are leaving GOD out of our days?  What if we allowed some time to be flexible for GOD?  What if we were ok with having our days be interrupted with divine appointments instead of all our own appointments?

If you pay attention, you will see that those divine appointments come when we least expect them because GOD’S timetable is different from ours. Since we are ambassadors for CHRIST, we are HIS hands and feet in the world around us. When we recognize those appointments and step in for GOD, HE uses them to touch a person’s heart and in turn we learn to trust and rely on GOD in a big way. We learn about HIS grace and mercy and love for HIS children. HE takes care of that extra time we are so worried about losing and seems to stretch it in a special way that only GOD can do!

WHAT IF WE STOOD IN THE GAP FOR CHRIST?

Let me give you an example……..there is a man in my neighborhood whose name is Jerome: (see post entitled: Tattoos and Walkers) whom I have come to know, and I see often when I walk my dog Molly.  One particular morning I was in a hurry with not a minute to spare, knowing I had to meet a friend.  Sure enough I came around the corner and there Jerome was! Jerome walks slowly with a walker, one calculated step at a time as he makes his way around the block.  My heart told me that hurrying on my way was not the thing to do, so I decided to walk alongside him.  We had a wonderful conversation and what an inspiration he was to me.  He walks with that walker because he had a stroke when he was 19 years old! It’s interesting what you learn about others when you take the time to do so.

I allowed myself to get lost in the moment with him, not worrying about my time.  I listened and tried to be encouraging. When I left Jerome, I made it home with time to spare to arrive on time for my appointment.  GOD somehow stretched the time for me……..don’t ask me to explain it, HE just did.  My divine appointment that day was covered by GOD’S grace that allowed me the “extra” time to spend with Jerome and still get where I needed to go on time and for some reason, I didn’t need to hurry! GOD intervened and covered the conversation because HE put Jerome in my path that day.

This story is proof to me that if every moment of our days are scheduled, we just might miss those divine appointments that are part of HIS plan.  Since the LORD has time for me, always and forever……..shouldn’t I leave time in my schedule to be available for HIS leading?  

Could it be, the best times in our days are actually those that are unscheduled? What if we always allowed some “extra” time wherever we go, so that we can remain open to those people who GOD crosses paths with us?  Honestly aren’t we all in too much of a hurry?

Being in a hurry is exhausting don’t you think?  I hate to hurry everywhere I go………I miss so much!  Let us pray daily for the LORD to slow us down long enough to “see” HIS children as HE sees them.  Let us slow down long enough to recognize those pleasures and people HE sends our way.  If we are operating in the precious present, rather than the world of hurry, HIS grace abounds, not only for us, but for HIS children that need HIS love.  Let us be HIS gift and light to shine in the world around us. Let us use our GOD-GIVEN gifts to reach a hurting world………but the only way we can reach it, is if we are willing to slow down and make the most of HIS unexpected divine appointments.

PSALM 16:11 “YOU WILL SHOW ME THE PATH OF LIFE; IN YOUR PRESENCE IS FULLNESS OF JOY; AT YOUR RIGHT HAND ARE PLEASURES FOREVERMORE.”

 12142178_189609471372596_390965073_n

Leave a Reply

