AN OBSTACLE TO HUMILITY AND FORGIVENESS

12747730_234923783512214_1982803367_n(1)

THE NUMBER ONE OBSTACLE TO HUMILITY AS A SERVANT FOR CHRIST IS PRIDE.

Now I will admit that there have been times in the past where I let my pride get in the way and later I regretted it.  Where is it written that we always have to be right? Our world lives on the self-centered idea of always being right!  Just read on any given day comments on social media.

So let’s take a moment to examine our own hearts and see where that pride is and what does it relate to?  If we are prideful we tend to have an unwillingness to surrender our will for a number of reasons.  Is there a situation right now where you need to admit you are wrong?  How about a relationship where forgiveness would pour mercy over someone?  Forgiveness is a love offering given away especially when the other person has no idea what they have done, (or maybe they do), but the damage has been done.  So how do we repair that?

A wise and dear friend of mine once told me that it only takes ONE to forgive………you can forgive someone without ever having to tell them.  Your forgiveness can happen with GOD’S help to change your heart. You can make your agreement with GOD that you will forgive and when you do, you will find a burden lifted and a freedom from the situation as well. Very often the person that did the hurting doesn’t realize it, but we do……. and we carry around that hurt like a badge of honor and in the end we are in our own little prison because of it!

Currently I have a person in my circle of acquaintances, notice I said acquaintances not a friend, who has said some not so nice things to me.  Isn’t there always someone? Honestly, I don’t get where this individual is coming from or why they have singled me out, but I have come to realize that they are just made that way………very abrasive and unaware of how and what they say. Since I deal with words, how they are said and the delivery of them, I believe this person has found a way to push my buttons and maybe I’m just plain sensitive to what is being said. Often I think “I would NEVER say that to anyone”! My issue is that I will see this person off and on and there is no way around that, so I must resolve my own hurt feelings with GOD’S help…….it is an ongoing process for sure!

Coming to the LORD and asking HIM to heal our hearts from the hurt is the best way, but it takes a surrender of will and a humility to come before HIM and admit that you yourself, need a change of heart.  Yes, you can say something to the person, and I have chosen not to.  In my situation, I really don’t even know this person very well and don’t want to create an even bigger issue.  But prayer is always needed!  It might not change the situation, but over time it sure will change my outlook.

This is where the examination of pride comes in.  In Proverbs 20: 9 it says: “Who can say, “I have kept my heart pure; I am clean and without sin?…….”  So let’s look first into our own hearts and see what is there instead of pointing the finger at someone else.  It’s hard to do, especially when hurtful words have been said, but GOD says HE hates pride of any kind.   

The other day I read a thought on Instagram that was interesting………

HARSH WORDS SAID CAN BE FORGIVEN…….. BUT NOT FORGOTTEN.

This is very true, we can forgive, but so often the words that were said keep rolling around in our heads.  And for me right now that is the issue.  I keep “hearing” what was said to me.  With a humble heart I continue to ask the LORD to heal my hurt and to protect my heart in a way that only HE can.  I trust that in time, what was said won’t bother me anymore.  HIS healing of hurt hearts and discernment will certainly be better than anything I could do!

PROVERBS 4:23 “ABOVE ALL ELSE, GUARD YOUR HEART, FOR IT IS THE WELLSPRING OF LIFE.”

Pride can lead to destruction in our lives if we let it……..when we are prideful, we really are acting as if we know better than our GOD.  HE will find a way to root out that pride in our hearts because HE doesn’t approve of it being there.  Our JESUS was a perfect example in humility and look at the insults HE endured! JESUS always responded with kindness and mercy.  

NEXT TIME SOMEONE HURTS YOU……..go before the LORD in humility and ask HIM if your pride is the problem.  HE will heal your hurt and teach you about forgiveness, an all important quality needed in a Christian.  But most of all, your heart will be changed through the process, and any pride that was there will be rooted out, so that love and mercy can take it’s place.  With GOD’S help, hurt hearts become forgiving hearts.

MATTHEW 6: 15 “BUT IF YOU REFUSE TO FORGIVE OTHERS, YOUR FATHER WILL NOT FORGIVE YOUR SINS.”

12530723_229623614041887_2018434020_n

4 thoughts on “AN OBSTACLE TO HUMILITY AND FORGIVENESS

  1. I have to admit that I have carried around a “hardness” toward a close family member. Although they are not blood I did “inherit” this person through my second marriage. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that this individual does NOT like me & would be ecstatic if I wasn’t in the family. It is an act of loving me, but it is a feeble attempt & is only done to gain whatever is needed by this person because they know that more flies are gathered with honey!!!! I’ve tried to be friends with the person but I must admit that pride does get in the way & then the bearcat in me rears it’s ugly head & assumes the “you don’t like me….fine….you don’t have to, so stop pretending because we both know how you truly feel” attitude!!! I know this is not an attitude that God approves of & the closer I cling to Him the less it bothers me & the easier it is to have a more open heart toward the family member. I struggle with it though as it our “human” tendency to protect ourselves & I admit….sometimes it feels good to just be stubborn & not give a hoot!! I can’t change how this person feels about me & that’s between them & God. What can be changed is my own attitude about how I deal with it & how I feel about them. That’s between ME & GOD and He’s the Only One that holds the key to open that door…..if I will only knock!!!!!! Keep doing what you’re doing, Max, you are a beacon for those who are lost and/or struggling!! Love ya, my friend!

    Like

    1. Difficult people are just that! But life is messy and I know that GOD is always refining us with that “one person”. It is a comfort to know that none of us are immune to this circumstance, just as none of us are immune to pride! It rears it’s ugly head when we least expect it to! Thanks for reading and encouraging me every step of this writing journey I am on! Love ya too!

      Like

    1. Hey Vicki-

      Yes the self-pity is easy to do too, especially when you didn’t “ask” for those words coming at you. I pray that GOD always protects your sweet heart. In this world, we will have troubles, but take heart…….JESUS has overcome the world!

      Like

Leave a Reply

