DO YOU WANT FOLLOWERS OR DO YOU WANT TO FOLLOW JESUS?

12393625_500237270154379_446158580_n

HAVE YOU PUT YOUR PLANS INTO GOD’S HANDS THIS YEAR?  Often times, moving ahead on our own makes us stumble along………have you given some intentional thought as to what GOD wants to do within you and with you this year?

My heart wishes for you dear reader, that a word that GOD has chosen for you is coming into view!  My word for 2016 is so evident now……..if I surrender my plans and all that my heart wishes, aren’t I surrendering my will too?  My own self-sufficiency needs to go if I am to be a follower of JESUS.  So often in scripture JESUS says plainly: “follow Me“.   When all my well laid plans go up in smoke and I truly come to the end of myself, what or whom do I turn to? 

My will, or wanting my own way, must yield or surrender to JESUS and HIS way.  I can daily admire HIM from afar, but do I really follow HIM?  Doesn’t that involve some type of surrender on my part?  Surrender of my thoughts, my heart and all that I am to the ONE who I say is the LORD of my life, is a yield of my own will.  I am already realizing that surrendering my will in spite of what I want, isn’t going to be an easy task!  It is going to be a daily struggle.  Have you ever started your day with some big plans, only to find that with every turn, events and circumstances just seemed to get more and more messed up?  I have had those days where I have thought, could anything more go wrong today?  Could it be that I didn’t surrender my day into HIS hands in the first place?  Where do I get off thinking it is my day anyway!

I want you to think and examine something right now……all of our earthly Christmas plans, all the buying, the parties, the eating and celebrating have now come to an end.  Do you feel full of JESUS or are you empty?  During the Christmas season, was your heart surrendered to HIS plan or to yours?  This year I took more time to linger in HIS presence and HIS coming.  One thing I did was to keep off of Facebook for the entire month of December with only time spent to list a blog post.  I ignored all messages coming from there.  At first it was hard not to respond, but as time went on it got easier.  Truly at the end of the month, I really didn’t want to get back into it……..do we all agree that Facebook is a horrible time sucker? Doesn’t GOD want you to spend that time with HIM instead? As December moved along I did spend more time in my Bible.  Time is precious…….how are you spending it?

I think what GOD is saying to me recently is this:   do you want FOLLOWERS or do you want to FOLLOW ME?  Let me say that again to you…….are you more concerned with your followers or are you diligently following JESUS??  If I truly surrender to HIM, there must come a time where there is less of me and more of HIM.  I don’t know about you, but my true heart’s desire is to be a follower of JESUS.  I don’t want to be a lukewarm Christian……one who checks off a list of things I need to do so people will think I am a Christian.  I certainly don’t want to get to Heaven and have GOD show me all my wasted time spent here doing what the world told me I should do! Right now friends I have to encourage you to keep your social media time in check…….our LORD wants us to really spend time with HIM, HE doesn’t want our leftovers!

Start this year off right…….MAKE A COMMITMENT TO HIM!  CHOOSE TO FOLLOW, NOT HAVE FOLLOWERS!!  MAKE GOD YOUR PRIORITY THIS YEAR! SURRENDER ALL YOUR DAYS INTO HIS CAPABLE HANDS AND  I WILL TOO, AND LET’S SEE WHERE GOD TAKES US THIS YEAR!

SURRENDERING yourself to HIM is true love for HIM……..surrendering is a worldly cost, a personal cost, a cost of your time, money, and all that you are, but it is eternally worth it!

PSALM 61: 2-4 “Lead me to the ROCK that is higher than I.  For YOU have been a shelter for me, a strong tower from the enemy.  I will abide in YOUR tabernacle forever; I will trust in the shelter of YOUR wings.”

BLESSINGS FRIENDS IN YOUR NEW YEAR!

12354080_770470519726219_999968003_n

Leave a Reply

