GRATEFUL FOR GRACE

1941119_407369902794625_1913581616_n

Tomorrow we will be celebrating Thanksgiving with loved ones and family.  How are you spending your day?  I have always had special memories of the Thanksgiving table because when I was a little girl we had old friends and new around our table due to my Mom and Dad’s invitations to others.  Since I was an only child, I loved the fact that our table was full.  I looked forward to when my Mom would  get out her special dishes to set her beautiful table!  I anticipated Thanksgiving as much as Christmas each year.  My mother’s cooking was wonderful and my favorite dish as a child believe it or not, was her relish tray.  A relish tray is a southern tradition and as a kid I would walk by now and then to steal an olive or pickle. I always got into trouble when Mom would observe an almost empty plate!

I don’t know what your memories are this year, good or bad, but please try to remember the good ones!  When we do and are grateful for them, we shed light on our lives and into the lives of others.  We should be grateful for all the mountaintops and the valleys we live through…….GOD has always been with us…….HE has been good to us and HE never ever leaves!

What about this year being radically grateful?  What if you made that phone call either to your Mom or Dad or friend or long lost relative and “thanked” them for being who they are in your life?  Why not tell them what they truly mean to you? How about tomorrow if we all stop texting each other for one day and make that actual phone call so we can hear one another’s voice!

We seem to take the easy way out with a text here and there.  How about if we said to one another: this is why I am grateful for you!  We need to be humble about our thoughts towards one another…….loving……..and full of grace!  CHRIST always had a gift of grace for anyone HE met and HE had tremendous compassion on the crowds that followed HIM.  Our GOD is a grace-filled GOD with plenty of it to go around……..a gift we surely don’t deserve.  Is there someone in your life right now that doesn’t deserve grace? 

I don’t want to go through the motions being grateful this Thanksgiving because it is the thing to do.  I want to mean it and to take stock of all GOD has given me in my life.  When I look at what I do have, I realize how rich my life is.  And that richness in all it’s goodness, comes from GOD alone.  Being grateful for something means I am grateful to SOMEONE.  The gift of grace means there is a GIVER of grace.  Let’s follow HIS example and extend that grace towards one another this Thanksgiving.  Thank someone for who they are, honoring them and loving them with your words.  Your thankfulness will bless them in more ways than you will ever know.

Let your gratefulness and grace be your light tomorrow…….

Much grace and blessings to YOU dear reader too!

PSALM 100:4-5  “ENTER INTO HIS GATES WITH THANKSGIVING, AND INTO HIS COURTS WITH PRAISE.  BE THANKFUL TO HIM, AND BLESS HIS NAME.  FOR THE LORD IS GOOD; HIS MERCY IS EVERLASTING.”

11849099_433705053480508_1097473159_n(1)

 

4 thoughts on “GRATEFUL FOR GRACE

  1. My husband had the best idea this Thanksgiving, he had everyone honor his mom and why they were thankful for her. It was a beautiful tribute and really blessed her. Our Andrew even thanked her for raising his dad to be a loving, kind and strong man–I cried!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

