COMMITMENT AND INTIMATE BELIEF

11850080_114397065574488_1387819644_n

You cannot hurry your love and commitment for the LORD……it takes time.  And time spent with HIM is a refreshment like none other.

Since the LORD is never in a hurry, we can learn HIS ways and develop an intimate belief in HIM…….a strong and solid faith built on the ROCK.

I am going to ask you a question right now that I have had to ask myself……..really, I don’t like my answer at all, how about you?  DO YOU SPEND AS MUCH TIME WITH THE LORD AS YOU DO ON FACEBOOK OR PINTEREST?

I continue to bring up social media because I believe it is the biggest threat to our ability to develop an intimate relationship with GOD.  We even post many GOD verses and pictures on social media, but are we spending as much time alone with HIM?  Are we being intentional about our prayer and devotion time?

Our world right now tells us, instills in us and beckons us to be part of the social world…….satan’s hiss tells us if we are not, then we are missing out!  I know some people right now who have recently deleted their Facebook accounts…….I envy them.  Currently I only post on my Facebook when I post a blog post here and I do have a Heavensreef Facebook page.  I am seriously considering deleting my personal account because Facebook has become a high school like place to show everyone what you are doing, when and how great your life is.  I see more people being cruel rather than kind!  Isn’t it a place of worship of self?  Our GOD is saying in HIS kingdom here on earth: “it’s not about us!”

We say “oh, but it is the only way for me to stay connected” and that is all fine, but I say, do it quickly and get off and get into the word instead.  If you do, aren’t you really choosing the better of the two?  Are you connected to GOD as much as you are connected to everyone else?  Does GOD really care how many followers we have? Ask GOD to reveal to you where you are guilty of wasting so much time on the Internet.  Because HIS word is eternal…….social media is not!

In our being so connected with one another, we are slowly losing this battle for our time and not spending the right time being connected with the ONE who truly matters: our LORD and SAVIOR!  If GOD were to tweet about you today and your time spent with HIM, what would HE say?  (Not enough time spent with ME #too busy #Pinterest #Facebook.)

There are many more sites to be involved in too.  I get invites all the time.  GOD help me to choose wisely so my time is not wasted on the wrong sites!!  This whole social world has become a huge battle for our time.  GOD says spend the time with ME!

I challenge you to a social fast…….try on a Sunday to go one full day without your I-pad, or laptop, or the hard one – your phone!  Will you spend your time in the word with HIM, serve HIM, glorify HIM?  Or how about spending time with someone who really needs to hear about the LORD?  If you put down the social stuff, you will find during that time that you feel very free. Why is that?  Find the time to do this, to find the time to build your relationship with the GOD of the universe!

I read recently that if your thoughts go to GOD only once a day, then you are NOT on intimate terms with HIM.  If we are in a hurry to “get through” our devotional time and prayer time, aren’t we just crossing something off our list of things to do for our day?  How about some real quality time with HIM, no phones needed!  We have a direct line to HIM, anytime and anywhere.  I worry that if we are always in a hurry in our relationship with HIM that in the end, it will be a shallow one……a surface one. Time with the LORD is a sacrifice of my time and yours…….HE wants that from us…….relationship time means worship time!

I love writing here because it makes me truly ponder and think about the LORD that I love. My eyes just see a blank page, no Facebook or Internet ads either.  Writing in a journal can accomplish the same thing too…..blank page, no ads!  Try anything that will help you go deeper, help you to get intimate with HIM. GOD is patiently waiting for us…….oh how we need to thank HIM for that!  Seek HIM as much as you want, be intentional about it, get creative too.  Commit to it!  This commitment will be worth it, because GOD is always worth it, and HE is good all the time and loves it when we truly seek HIM above all else. 

PSALM 27: 4 “ONE THING I HAVE DESIRED OF THE LORD, THAT WILL I SEEK; THAT I MAY DWELL IN THE HOUSE OF THE LORD ALL THE DAYS OF MY LIFE, TO BEHOLD THE BEAUTY OF THE LORD, AND TO INQUIRE IN HIS TEMPLE.”

3 thoughts on “COMMITMENT AND INTIMATE BELIEF

  1. How I appreciate your writing. I love how your thoughts and reflections cause me to stop, ponder and meditate on our Lord. Thank you for sharing your work so that others like me can be stirred to devotion of our Lord in new ways.

    Like

    1. YOU are very welcome Vicki……GOD’S word NEVER comes back void. I pray that HIS word reaches those who need it. May we continue to walk HIS path with the wisdom we need to go even deeper with HIM!

      Like

Leave a Reply

