LAUNDRY and DISHES and SANDALS

11939623_1459497877693424_1114346863_n

Every book I have been reading lately has been pointing me in the direction of how our GOD is in the mundane and ordinary things and events of our lives.  Even my Church has started a new series about GOD’S kingdom here on earth.  We all tend to live for those big once in a lifetime moments like graduations, weddings, births of babies and we can come up with many more for sure.  And living for these moments can become how we live.

But how are we living all those days and weeks in-between?

I will tell you that my two least favorite things to do are: dishes and laundry. How about you?  Laundry and dishes are both chores that MUST be done, but they never ever end.  As soon as you think you’ve cleaned up, more appears!

I have been asking GOD: “LORD where are you in this? In the midst of all these clothes?  Help me see!”  I would much rather put my sandals on and take a walk outside and enjoy the sunshine!

BUT WHAT IF I TOLD YOU THAT HE SAYS WE TRULY DON’T LIVE UNTIL WE FIND HIM IN THE SMALL EVERYDAY, DAY IN AND DAY OUT LIVING!

17704_846689578718655_9165367159671348331_n

11373881_524767807670298_1395357124_n

11850374_1787881581438409_1678432664_n

11939562_1045148365520153_1597891464_n

11881759_874818992572100_2024846865_n(1)

Could it be that the everyday, mundane things we do, day in and day out are really a way to occupy our minds in CHRIST?  If I must do those everyday chores or see my days come and go, don’t I need to somehow number them right?  Isn’t HE just a glance away…….a thought away?  What if I learn to occupy my mind with the holy thoughts of JESUS?

PSALM 25:9 says: “HE LEADS THE HUMBLE IN WHAT IS RIGHT, AND TEACHES THE HUMBLE HIS WAY.”

The most humble, but yet the most powerful example CHRIST set for us was when HE took a towel, got on HIS knees and washed the disciple’s feet.  If you think about it, our simple chores of washing dishes and doing laundry are a humble exercise in washing another’s feet.  Our everyday simple tasks can become boring if we let them.  In our day to day living, we can choose to live holy for the Kingdom. Doing those simple things that no one really sees is a way to honor HIM! Living well becomes a way of humble service and thanksgiving for a Savior who is our example. 

Let us as Christians, go against the grain of society.  Let’s begin today!  Right now let’s live well, as HIS example.  DO the small things with joy and love for GOD and others.  Be the one who is willing to do the chore no one else wants to do……..embrace being humble before others just as JESUS did without grumbling and with a pure heart.  Be the one that HE sees living with holy hands and heart extended towards others with grace and mercy.  Because HE does watch…….HE knows that our character is being refined into a character fit for HIS glorious Kingdom.  Let us strive for a heart and soul that is more authentic, more holy, more like HIM.  And someday in the future when we stand before the Savior’s throne and come face to face with JESUS, we will definitely hear: “well done good and faithful servant!”

ZECHARIAH 4: 10 “FOR WHO HAS DESPISED THE DAY OF SMALL THINGS?”

NEXT POST: SCHOOL BUS DAYS! 

4 thoughts on “LAUNDRY and DISHES and SANDALS

  1. I sometimes let myself get aggravated by the mundane repetitious things of my everyday life. EVERY morning when I get up..first thing..I’ve got to wipe up the crumbs from where my husband has already stood beside the kitchen counter to eat whatever he had for breakfast have fallen. Some may even hit the floor. This did not come easy because my “neat freak” nature wanted to scream “How hard is it to brush your crumbs over in the sink when your done?” I could feel it start crawling up my back!!!! BUT having those crumbs there means I have a husband who has come home from working away & God has delivered him safely to me & I’m not alone! This doesn’t mean that my broom doesn’t come cruising by waiting for the witch in me to hop on & go for a ride…waving my spell-casting wand to try & turn hubby into a neater person….or maybe a toad!! Flesh & my nature want to take over, but God’s Grace & Mercy prevail when I ask Him to help me bite my tongue & simmer down! Mundane? Depends on how we choose to look at it. One person’s mundane could just very well be a blessing to someone who doesn’t have the opportunity, given whatever circumstances may prevent it, to do the thing that “crawls up one’s back”!! Thank you again, Max, for giving us cause to put things in perspective & find God in the mundane!!!!!!

    Like

    1. YOU are welcome! On those kinds of days finding GOD in all those simple chores or things we do daily and in repetition is when I am most challenged to find GOD. I know HE is there all the time and in every small detail. Let us be intentional to look for HIM with the right kind of eyes and hearts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

