BE STILL

11255216_847615038626109_1381143032386675405_n

Have you ever noticed that seeing a beautiful sunrise or sunset causes you to stop and “be still”, even if it is long enough to take a picture? I want to be still more…..do you? Our culture is in a hurry all the time, every single day from the time we wake up until we go to bed. It is always about how much you can jam pack into an hour of time. But why does it seem like time slips away faster the more we hurry?

Sitting still and taking a deep cleansing breath is actually good for you and me…….so stop right now and let’s do that together:  breath in slowly 1 2 3 …… and now out 1 2 3.  I like to think I am breathing in the good and letting all the bad out.  Do you feel a little better? I know I feel more….. STILL!

A friend of mine’s favorite verse of all time, hands down is: “BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD.”  Psalm 46:10. She told me once that until she embraced this verse with all her soul that she really didn’t know how to be still and she only was able to abide with her GOD by calming herself and listening to HIS voice. Being still requires you to stop, don’t move, embrace the moment fully……be in the present!

In a previous post I spoke about the ability to live in the present……not with thought of the future or past.  But to fully embrace where you are with all heart and soul.

GOD has commanded us to BE STILL!              10502088_773508952703385_2282616036700222610_n

When I am still, I notice my breathing, I can hear what I normally tune out, and I can see what is right in front of me.  I am present in my current condition. The hardest part about being still is the ability to still the mind as well!  This for me is allusive all the time. When I try to still my thoughts thru meditation, all those “thoughts” just jumble around in my brain and I want to scream at them: STOP!

I don’t know about you, but even in prayer my thoughts get jumbled sometimes and it is only when I try to focus, by being absolutely still, that my mind calms down so to speak and my focus on the ONE I am praying to, becomes laser sharp. So try as I might in my own way, I realize that I can’t be still on my own! Only with GOD with me in the moment can I be still. Once again, our being human gets in the way of our being HOLY. If GOD has commanded us to be fully still and to fully know…..then that is our way of SEEING HIM!  And when we see HIM, we want to seek HIM, and know HIM with all our heart and soul.  

5660_107759696460_96339861460_2603678_7186536_n

As I continue my walk with GOD, I want to go deeper and I’m never sure what that looks like. But what I have come to realize is that going deeper requires me to be still and to abide with my whole being whether it is in prayer, or reading the word, or sitting in awe of a sunset orchestrated by the MASTER of the universe. HIS deep love for us, will draw us deeper to HIM. So be STILL my wonderful friends…….it is the only way to truly know HIM and remember when you do, you are coming into HIS HOLY PRESENCE.

REVELATION 22:11 “…….he who is righteous, let him be righteous still; he who is Holy, let him be Holy still.”

2 thoughts on “BE STILL

  1. This is something I struggle with also. But, I am so thankful beyond measure when God “overrides” my own thoughts & preoccupations so that I CAN hear Him. I never want to miss His Voice. Thank you for sharing this wonderful gift of writing that God has given you. Keep shining your light in this dark & dismal world dearest friend!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

